Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Cooking Text Books
04-29-2010, 07:41 AM
Cooking Text Books
I am a firefighter and cook for a large group every 3 days, we have 3 cook books at my fire house, the Culinary Institue of America offers 2 text books worth having, I like The Joy of Cooking, and I use a book of techniques.

To be a firefighter, one can be a lot of things…except a coward.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-29-2010, 08:48 AM
RE: Cooking Text Books
My favorite is the Better Homes & Gardens cookbook. All of the recipes have been tested and turn out the way they're supposed to.

A party without cake is really just a meeting
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
06-12-2010, 12:30 PM
I just ordered Pat Chapman`s "Vindaloo and other hot curries" book. I used to own a Pat Chapman book called, (I think) 101 Curry Club recipes, which also had a Vindaloo recipe, which was great - a very quick simple recipe, the result a very tasty and (very hot) curry, calling for chilli powder, cayene powder, and (to suit the chef) as many bird eye chillis as you could stand - these went in in the last 10 mins of cooking, (like finger chillis in a Jalfrezi), and made the dish exceptionally hot.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
08-25-2010, 07:45 AM
When I movved out on my own some 35-years ago my mom gave me her old 1950's Betty Crocker Cookbook. Best part about it is that it has all the basics in it, not a lot of extra fluff. A lot of modern cookbooks assume you already know the basics so leave out a lot of the basics. Comes in a small binder book so you can add notes pages. So hit the garage sales, flea markets and antique malls to find one of these treasures.
09-29-2010, 06:31 PM