Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
hihi - new here!
03-09-2014, 10:01 PM (This post was last modified: 03-10-2014 02:01 AM by spinifex.)
hihi - new here!
I've been a fan of Rush since 1982 or so.

I've also been cooking, off and on, for nearly that long.

So, when I learned that Neil Peart launched a cooking forum? The best of both worlds!

I've been cooking a bit more, now that I'm an unemployed student. In fact, I have a crockpot of black bean kale soup cooking right now; the base is turkey stock, and it contains kale, celery, black beans, corn, leek, button mushrooms, and parsnip. Basically, a 'we need to use these veggies NOW!' soup. I even made the turkey stock myself, by taking turkey bones, some veggie scraps, and simmering them in that same crockpot for 24 hours or so. Spices are black pepper and bay leaves.

Otherwise, I like a lot of different cuisines, such as Mexican, Indian, Japanese, and the like. I need to branch out my cooking chops; maybe when I have more time and less homework!

I also like traveling, soccer (my team is Seattle Sounders FC), reading a great book, sipping a great cup of tea, and getting a good grade on my Trig tests.

But, hi all!

(BTW, soup turned out fantastically. After cooking for high for 5 hours or so with some bay leaves, I added some garlic powder, a pinch of cayenne, some epazote, some cracked black pepper, some salt, and a bit of a spice blend called 'Arizona Dreaming', from Penzey's Spice Co. It's in the fridge now, and I have a hearty dinner for this week! Making your own stock really makes all the difference in the world.)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-10-2014, 07:22 AM (This post was last modified: 03-10-2014 07:23 AM by LiveToCook.)
RE: hihi - new here!