Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 4.5 Average
So, what's in the box?
05-12-2014, 03:37 PM
So, what's in the box?
For years we've tossed around the idea of joining a fresh produce delivery service, and last week we finally took the plunge. Monday was our first delivery...I'm usually pretty reserved and hard to impress, but I was, oddly, giddy as a schoolgirl as I unpacked the box.Blush I must say, being confronted with a box full of fresh produce I've never worked with before(or in some cases never even heard of) has certainly taken me in new culinary directions and provided an exciting "OK, so what am I gonna do with this" component to my usual protocols.

I figure I'll just post up a few of the items I receive, as well as what I did with them and see how it goes....

Dyno Kale...
[Image: food214_zps34913204.jpg]

How can this NOT turn out well amirite???
[Image: food212_zps094e2835.jpg]

Prior to the braise...
[Image: food211_zps82facbc6.jpg]

Grilled chicken thigh on braised dyno kale.
[Image: food210_zpse82fd7e1.jpg]

To ask why we cook is to ask why the leaves fall...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-12-2014, 07:30 PM
RE: So, what's in the box?
Nom...nom...nom...looks good Sunset!!
05-13-2014, 06:04 AM
Sigh......Yes, Sunset the food pics always looks spectacular.

"... always throw spilt salt over your left shoulder, keep rosemary by your garden gate, plant lavender for luck, and fall in love whenever you can..." Practical Magic
05-13-2014, 02:02 PM
BaconButterOnionGarlic how can you POSSIBLY go wrong??!
OY. I could prolly eat an entire pot of that braised kale. Now, just *when* we're you inviting us ovah fer a meal...? Cool

Blah blah blah....yada yada yada!
05-13-2014, 02:52 PM
The whole idea sounds great, thank you for sharing.
05-16-2014, 02:03 PM