Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Guitar Amps?
09-10-2011, 12:02 AM (This post was last modified: 09-10-2011 02:02 AM by ladijules.)
Guitar Amps?
I'm still new here, so please forgive me if this isn't the place to put this!

I'm hoping for some advice, since so many of you are musicians.

My daughter just started playing guitar. She has an Applause acoustic that she can hook into an amp. I however, have no knowledge whatsoever with musical instruments. Can anyone recommend an amp? Preferably something not too expensive, smallish and won't blast out my windows?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Intolerant of Intolerance.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-10-2011, 06:26 AM
RE: Guitar Amps?
I will admit I have no knowledge of such things, but my daughter's boyfriend is partial to the Orange Amps(that's the name of the company and the color of said amps).

"... always throw spilt salt over your left shoulder, keep rosemary by your garden gate, plant lavender for luck, and fall in love whenever you can..." Practical Magic
09-10-2011, 07:14 AM
I am not that informed on amps, but when we purchased our son's electric guitar we bought a small Peavey amp. It was that price and has a lot of features. Great bang for the buck.
09-10-2011, 12:41 PM
Hmmm, I only hit drums (and the electronic ones go through the own dedicated Roland amp system) - but all the guitarists I have worked with use - Marshall, Laney, or Vox. My guess though these would be too big and too loud for your requirements (we are heavy metal musicians after all) - but I think they do smaller units.

I did see some really funky Vox mini amps (I dont know if they are any good mind you - but seem quite clever)

[Image: th_acoustic_slant.jpg]

[Image: amPlug_cab_Image3.jpg]

Retails for £40 over here
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
09-10-2011, 12:50 PM